SHAME ON YOU HOLLAND AMERICA

MBY

HOLLAND AMERICA - SOLO TRAVELLER'S DISCOUNTS

Why does Holland America allow US travel agents to sell their American and Canadian clients 0% single occupancy supplements when these deals are denied to UK or other European customers?

I am a solo traveller resident in the UK and when looking to book a cruise holiday I am, like all other solo travellers, keen to avoid the high supplements applied for single occupancy of double cabins. I am reasonably savvy when researching cruise websites and I am registered with several UK companies that offer the ‘singles’ bargains.

I am also registered with a couple of US travel agency websites that also have cruise ‘solo specials’. Just over a month ago I received a solo newsletter from one of the US websites offering many 0% discount single occupancy cruise only offers. Most of these were Holland America cruises with itineraries from 7 days to 30+ days in all parts of the world.

One in particular appealed, a 32 night Holland America cruise from Buenos Aires to Fort Lauderdale departing 18 March 2015 on the Zaandam for $2599 (US dollars). This was based on single occupancy of an inside cabin. I contacted the US travel agency to book and I was told it was not possible to do so as Holland America stipulate that anyone booking ANY Holland America cruise through them or any other US travel agent must be resident in the USA or Canada. This was a condition imposed by Holland America. If however I had previously travelled on a Holland America cruise then this condition would be waived and I would be allowed to book via the US agent. The US agents were most apologetic because Holland America would not remove this clause. They stressed that this was a corporate policy instituted by Holland America and they (the travel agents) were very disappointed in the restrictions placed upon them and all other US travel agencies.