Europe 2011 with Kids

ShipMaven

Forever Remembered
Are you considering the Mediterranean or the Baltic? Either area, I would suggest Princess. You don't say how old your kids are, but Princess has good children's programs (as does Royal Caribbean).

I realize some can only travel during the summer because of school constraints but keep in mind that the Eastern Mediterranean, in particular, is extremely hot (and crowded) during the summer. August is the vacation month in Italy, so many sites in the cities are closed or on shortened hours and the resorts and beaches are packed like sardines. I've been going to Europe since 1951 so I have some experience.

dfilippe

Waiter
Thanks MaryAnn. At the time of sailing the kids will be 17, 10, and 7. Thanks for the information about the heat. I will look into those cruiselines.
We had thought about Carnival Magic....do you have any thoughts on that?

BruinSteve

Environmental Compliance Officer
Hi everyone,
We are thinking of taking a cruise to Europe next summer with the kids. Can anyone recommend a cruiseline?

My two cents:

I've also been traveling and cruising and going to Europe for a long time as well...
And we've raised two kids, taking them on many cruises...including cruises to Europe...

First, know that several cruise lines do very good cruises to Europe...
And you can have a great cruise on most of them...

With kids, I would first rule out Oceania and Azamara and all of the "luxury" lines...Though great cruises, they don't really accommodate kids at all--no kids or teens programs...

That said, it leaves you with the usual big ship lines:

Royal Caribbean, Celebrity, Princess, NCL, Costa, Carnival, HAL...and several European lines...

But, maybe the first thing to consider is the itinerary...Where do you want to go? How long of a cruise are you looking for?